First Book of Record


Full view (pdf: 12.71 MB) | Transcribed text (pdf: 670.65 KB)

No Copyright – United States

Learn more about copyright and access restrictions for use of materials from Worthington Memory.

First Book of Record: St. John's Episcopal Church [1804-1891] is a manuscript, with genre register. Its dimensions are 12.5 in. x 8 in.. It is 35 pages long.

It was created on Monday, February 6, 1804.

Trustees of St. John's Episcopal Church is the Creator. St. John's Episcopal Church is the Contributor.

The First Book of Records contains documents that incorporate St. John's as an ecclesiastical establishment and a corporation under Ohio law, an unusual arrangement. The contents include discussions of governance, membership,income and management of the church glebe or farm lot. The first two pages scanned outline an agreement between one Erie Bristol and the churchwardens to lease a portion of the church lot for lumber production. The question of taxation vs. subscriptions for the support of the church points out conflicts between the original founders, new settlers and rival churches. The negotiations with Bishop Philander Chase, founder of Kenyon College, add a fascinating sidelight. Many names that later become prominent in Columbus history appear here for the first time.

Note: Full text is provided for portions of this item, not pictured in its entirety.

It covers the topics charters, church records and charters.

It features the organization St. John's Episcopal Church.

It covers the city Worthington.

You can find the original at St. John's Episcopal Church.

This file was reformatted digital in the format video/jpeg2000.

The Worthington Memory identification code is sje0006_001.

This metadata record was human prepared by Worthington Libraries on August 8, 2001. It was last updated July 2, 2021.